Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Hotfix was for lag apparently (Read 1633 times)
arkohighstar
Ex Member

Hotfix was for lag apparently
Nov 22nd, 2011 at 4:28pm
Print Post  
http://forums.ddo.com/showthread.php?&postid=4184565#post4184565

Quote:
I might be able to shed some light on the 'crashes'. This is my conceptual understanding; I'm not an engineer so keep that in mind.

The crashes that the hotfix addressed are not client crashes - so if you were seeing some of these, they won't be fixed with yesterday's hotfix.

For each shard/world there is a machine running a master copy of the server plus many 'instances' of that server. Each instance (basically a copy of the server) handles a certain number of players, spreading the entire load of players amongst the instances. If one of these instances crashes, the remaining instances take on the duties of the failed instance (i.e. handling that player load).

However, if the cause of the server instance crash is not a rare event, more server instance crashes will occur, causing more load to be handled by less CPU power. This results in lag. We have been experiencing the crashes for some time and there was a potential fix in U12. Unfortunately it didn't fix the problem, but it did provide some logging info to help track down the source of the problem (these can be very tricky to trace). The logging identified a problem; it was fixed and went live with yesterday's hotfix.

Note that this fix doesn't mean that all lag magically disappears; there are many potential sources/causes of lag and each one needs to be addressed separately.

I could see the huge lag spikes being us being switched over to a new server as we crash. As for  the crashing, my bet is runaway memory, or bad garbage recycling but thats just a guess

IP Logged

Flav
Vault Frog

One Frog to Rule them
All!

Re: Hotfix was for lag apparently
Reply #1 - Nov 23rd, 2011 at 3:52am
Print Post  
Quote: