Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 2 [3] 4  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 75 Replies) This explains a lot (Read 21539 times)
karatekid
Self-Proclaimed Puppy Farmer

Re: This explains a lot
Reply #50 - Mar 12th, 2013 at 4:56pm
Print Post  
Terebinthia wrote on Mar 12th, 2013 at 3:35pm:
Yeah, this. I'm not a coder but I worked as a PM / business analyst / UAT manager for a long time in a Financial services environment. I just can't grasp why they can't mirror live. To me it's a basic. I understand nasty spaghetti code exists, but... I don't get how this kind of version control isn't mandatory. I know it's not people's money, but still. There's so many products out there...

I am having a very similar discussion at this very moment at work (cmd-tab is my friend)... problem is you nailed it... UAT is getting to be non-existent any more.  SIT to make sure nothing pukes, then go-live.  I'm on a call right now sounding so "get off my lawn" arguing for UAT testing.

IP Logged

karatekid
Self-Proclaimed Puppy Farmer

Reply #51 - Mar 12th, 2013 at 5:02pm
Print Post  
Gunga wrote on Mar 12th, 2013 at 4:50pm:
You're delusional. I worked for Time Warner for 12 years. I was with Warner, then Time/Warner and then AOL/TimeWarner. The stock split like 50 times and I was 100% in Warner stock. I bought a house from it. Do you know why the stock was worth so much? You don't get to Fortune 500 by buying everyone double of everything, you retard. You get to Fortune 500 by maximizing profits which has nothing to do with making sure everything works.

And you get on the cover of the Wall St Journal when your tech shits the bed and data is compromised.

Has nothing to do with Turbine - just reflected rant from the other conversation I'm having.

IP Logged

Asheras
Completionist (i.t.p.)

This is why we can't have
nice things.

Reply #52 - Mar 12th, 2013 at 5:04pm
Print Post  
Gunga wrote on Mar 12th, 2013 at 4:50pm: